All practical exercises listed here will be introduced by a topic-related 20-minute scientific lecture.


Thursday, 11 May 2023

Anterior skull base & anterior CCJ


8:00       Welcome

8:05       Scientific Lecture

8:25       Practical part: Fronto-lateral approach & minimally invasive variants, subtemporal approach & anterior petrosectomy

13:00    Lunch

14:00    Scientific Lecture

14:25    Practical part: Fronto-temporo-orbito-zygomatic approach; clinoidectomy & sinus cavernosus Antero-lateral approach to CCJ and management of the vertebral artery

18:00    Debriefing


Friday, 12 May 2023

Posterior skull base & posterior CCJ


8:00       Scientific Lecture

8:25       Practical part: Retrosigmoidal approach & opening of the internal auditory canal Posterior midline, supracerebellar-infratentorial & telo-velar approach

13:00    Lunch

14:00    Scientific Lecture

14:25    Practical part: Postero-lateral approach to the CCJ (far lateral approach and variants), C1& C2 and anatomy of the vertebral artery, landmarks of screw placement C0-C4 for Occ Cerv Fusion

18:00    Debriefing


Saturday, 13 May 2023

Lateral skull base


8:00       Scientific Lecture

8:25       Practical part: Posterior petrosectomy & variants, strategic planning in complex skull base surgery, peri-operative management & intra-operative monitoring, complication prevention & trouble-            shooting

12:00    Lunch

13:00    Free section

15:00    Farewell

Invited Faculty

Prof. M. Bruneau, chairman of the neurosurgical department at UZ Brussel

Prof. R. Daniel, Associate Professor, Lausanne university hospital

Prof. S. Froelich, Professor and Chairman, Hôpital Lariboisière, Paris

Prof. T. Meling, Head of department at Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen

Prof. P.H. Roche, Head of Neurosurgery Department, Hôpital Nord, Marseille

Prof. M. Tatagiba, Chairman, neurosurgery university hospital Tuebingen


Local Faculty (Neurosurgical Department of the University Hospital Duesseldorf)

Prof. J.F. Cornelius, Chairman

Prof. Th. Beez, Head of paediatric neurosurgery, Vice chairman

Prof. K. Beseoglu, Head of Neurosurgical Intensive Care


Scientific Organization

Prof. J.F. Cornelius

Dr. Johannes Knipps

Dr. Juliane Weski


Disclosure information is available here

MediathekInformation und Wissen
LageplanSo finden Sie uns